Abdulrazak Gurnah

Abdulrazak Gurnah was born in 1948 in Zanzibar. He migrated to the UK in 1967. He studied at Christ Church College, Canterbury, whose degrees were then awarded by the University of London. He lectured at the Bayero University Kano in Nigeria from 1980 to 1982 and was appointed professor at the University of Kent in 2004, where he is still based. Gurnah is the author of eight novels:

Pilgrim’s Way,  Jonathan Cape, 1988
Dottie, Jonathan Cape, 1990
Paradise, Penguin, 1994
Admiring Silence, Penguin, 1996
By the Sea, Bloomsbury, 2001
Desertion, Bloomsbury, 2005
The Last Gift, Bloomsbury, 2011